“Let it Go” by Marilyn

Most parents are familiar with the music from the Disney film, “Frozen” which was hugely popular this past winter.  Elementary music teacher, Mrs. Abby Palmer, has been working with her students as they have learned to sing “Let it Go” from the movie.  One student in particular has stood out as they’ve performed.  Marilyn C. from Ms. Buesing’s classroom is featured in the video below.

Graduation 2014

Rich Hill High School held it’s commencement exercises on Friday evening, May 16th at 7:00 pm.  Thirty-two seniors received their diplomas. Salutatorian, Makayla Fuqua seized the opportunity to take one last “selfie” with her class and each of the three valedictorians, (Cheyenne Champlin, Ashlyn Kithcart, and Caleb Skocy) shared a few parting thoughts with their classmates.  Mr. Greg Brocka was the featured speaker for the evening, sharing some last words of advice for the graduates.  The lights were turned down as the class shared their video featuring many different moments from their lives and time in the Rich Hill Schools.  After receiving their diplomas the graduates lined up outside of the high school to receive their many well wishers.

The video can be viewed via the link below.


IMG_1545 IMG_1546 IMG_1548 IMG_1549 IMG_1551 IMG_1552 IMG_1553 IMG_1555 IMG_1556 IMG_1557 IMG_1558 IMG_1559 IMG_1560 IMG_1561 IMG_1562 IMG_1563 IMG_1564 IMG_1565 IMG_1566 IMG_1567

Sectionals Results!

Saturday, May 17th the RH track boys and girls went to Lamar for sectionals.

All of the students who went will be advancing to state in at least one event.

Here are the results:

Jordann Wheatley got 1st in Pole Vault with a height of 9’9″, and the 200 meter with a time of 27.51.

Whitli Thomas, Serena Duncan, Jordann Wheatley, and Allison Taylor got 3rd in the 4×200 with a time of 1:53.16, and 4th in the 4×100 with a time of 53.89.

Whitli Thomas got 6th in the 100 meter with a time of 14.08.

Allison Taylor got 6th in the 200 meter with a time of 28.94.

Bryant Courter got 1st in Triple Jump with a jump of 44′ 5″, 2nd in Long Jump with a jump of 20′ 1 1/2″, and 3rd in High Jump with a height of 5’10”.

Kyle George got 2nd in the 3200 meter with a time of 10:47.16, and 8th in the 1600 meter with a time of 5:16.80.

Any student who placed in the top 4 will move on to state.
The state meet will be Friday and Saturday (May 23rd/May 24th) at Lincoln University in Jefferson City.

More Green Screen Videos

As displayed in an earlier post, students in the TAG program have been experimenting with various ways to use the green screen to produce videos.  Some students spent some time reading the poetry of Shel Silverstein and then producing a video version of the poem of their choosing.  Here are a few of their productions.

Senior Awards Ceremony

Tuesday night the 2014 seniors were presented with local scholarships, academic awards, and organizational awards.

The ceremony started with a welcome and House of Representatives Recognition by principal, David Rotert.

After the welcome, academic and organizational awards were handed out for English, Agricultural Science, Science Olympiad, Natural Science, Anatomy and Physiology, Art, and Band.

Institutional recognition was given out to Ashlyn Kithcart, and Cheyenne Champlin for Pittsburg State University; Haley Smith for Avila University; and Daniel Meek for Thrive.

17 students were given the A+ Scholarship by Rhonda Headley.

Local Scholarships included:

DAR Good Citizen- Cheyenne Champlin

MSPE Award- Caleb Skocy

Opal Huffman Scholarship- Kendra Larimore, Cheyenne Champlin, Ashlyn Kithcart

National Honor Society Scholarship Nominees- Kendra Larimore, Gavin Steuck

MFA Scholarship- Sam Laughlin

CTA Scholarship- Caleb Skocy

Maelynne & August Gibson Scholarship- Lexi Nelson, Shadoe Taylor

Margie Duffield Memorial Scholarship- Alex Wills, Jackson Ogburn

FCCLA Scholarship- Megan Carlson

Pro-Start Scholarship- Megan Carlson

FFA Booster Scholarship- Jackson Ogburn, Lizzie Jennings, Alex Wills, Gavin Steuck, Marriah Seider, Cheyenne Champlin, Sam Laughlin, Hagen Fischer

Mark Wheatley Agricultural Scholarship- Sam Laughlin

Miss Mary M. Griffin Memorial Scholarship- Karly Bain

Miss Ada M. Griffin Memorial Scholarship- Marriah Seider

The Coalminers’ Daughters Scholarship- Alex Wills, Cheyenne Champlin

Don Droz Memorial Scholarship- Jenna Tabor, Gavin Steuck

Harold & Joyce Kenny Memorial Scholarship- Jenna Tabor

David DeMoss Scholarship- Kendra Larimore

Kenneth Kern Memorial Scholarship- Gavin Steuck, Geoffery Cumpton

Security Bank Scholarship- Alex Wills

Jim Kithcart Memorial Scholarship- Ashlyn Kithcart, Gavin Steuck

Ellis Foundation Scholarship- Cheyenne Champlin, Makayla Fuqua, Lizzie Jennings, Ashlyn Kithcart, Jackson Ogburn, Caleb Skocy, Haley Smith, Gavin Steuck, Kadeesha West-Persley

Butter Rotary Scholarship- Jackson Ogburn

Dr. Ferguson Scholarship- Jackson Ogburn